With the growing number of Muslim in the Canada, many restaurants are trying to entice them to dine in their restaurants by offering Halal food. The best thing about Halal food is that it can be served by anyone, including non-Muslim as long as it follows the Islamic guidelines.
So what is Halal Food? Halal is an Arabic word that means “lawful” or “permissible”. The halal restaurant follows all the guidelines, procedures and ingredients to make Halal Food that is permissible to be eaten by Muslim.
Most non-Muslims know that Muslims can’t eat pork but very few people understand that halal is more than pork-free and alcohol-free. Best halal restaurants in Toronto know that with the exception of seafood, any animal that is not slaughtered in the name of Allah is not halal. Chickens, cows, lambs, or turkeys can be non-halal when they are not slaughtered according to the Islamic guidelines. The Islamic guidelines require animals to be slaughtered by making incisions at the front of their throats using very sharp knives. The incisions should be deep and cut into the carotid artery, wind pipe and jugular veins to release all the blood from the body. The meat can only be consumed/processed after all the blood is drained from the body. When slaughtering an animal, the head of the animal has to be aligned to face the Qiblah and the butcher should utter a prayer “in the name of Allah”
With the growing demand of halal meat worldwide, more butchers are training to obtain halal certificates and Halal restaurants scarborough obtain their meat supplies only from certified Halal butcheries.
Apart from getting the meat from Halal suppliers, food preparation is also important in determining whether or not a dish can be classified as halal. Any kitchen utensils like knives, spoons, baking tray or plates that have been previously used to prepare non-halal food should not be used unless they have been cleaned properly according to the Islamic guidelines and halal restaurants Toronto strictly follow these rules.
Chefs also refrain from using alcohol (wine, sherry, lager, etc) in their sauces. While people may argue that most of the alcohol will evaporate once the sauces are flambéed or simmered down, a lot of Muslims will not eat anything that has been “touched” by alcohol.
While it takes a great effort for restaurants all over Canada to serve halal food, the demand is growing so rapidly that a lot of restaurants and food manufacturers do not mind doing the tedious process even they feel great to serve their Muslim brother and sisters.